Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society

Free-State Legislative Council, Kansas Territory - Page

To order images and/or obtain permission to use them commercially, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at KSHS.reference@ks.gov or 785-272-8681, ext. 117.

For more information see the Copyright and Permission FAQ.

A photograph of the Free-State Legislative Council, 1857-58. The delegates were elected October 5, 1857. They met in an extra session December 7-17, 1857 and in regular session January 4, 1858, at Lecompton, Kansas Territory. On January 7, the Free-State Legislature adjourned and met in the Babcock & Lykins building, Lawrence, Kansas Territory. Members of the Council are starting at the top and going clock wise: Carmi William Babcock, Lawrence; Oscar E. Learnard, Burlington; (upper right corner) Caleb S. Pratt, Lawrence, Enrolling Clerk; Lyman Allen, Lawrence; Luther C. Challiss, Atchison; Edwin S. Nash, Olathe; Robert Crozier, Leavenworth; (bottom right) Lewis N. Tappan, Lawrence, Assistant Journal Secretary; Joel Kishler Goodin, Minneola, Secretary; (bottom center) Andrew J. Mead, Manhattan; David, Sibbet, Brooklyn, Linn County; (bottom left) Abram Cutler, Lawrence, Sergeant at Arms; Cyrus Kurtz Holliday, Topeka; Dr. Joseph Pomery Root, Wyandotte; Albert G. Patrick, Grasshopper Falls; John Wright, Leavenworth; (upper left) Asaph Allen, Topeka, Docket Clerk; and Benjamin Harding, Wathena.

Creator: Needels
Date: Between 1857 and 1958

Bookbag Share Print

Item Number: 722
Call Number: FK2.2 .1857 *1
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 722

Copyright © 2007-2019 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.