Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society

Counties : Rawlins, memorial - Page

To order images and/or obtain permission to use them commercially, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at KSHS.reference@ks.gov or 785-272-8681, ext. 117.

For more information see the Copyright and Permission FAQ.

A petition on April 25, 1881 from citizens in Rawlins county ask Kansas Governor St. John to designate and declare Atwood as Temporary County Seat. The petitioners state that Atwood, Kansas is situated within one- and one-half miles of the geographical center of Rawlins county. Accompanying the petition is a letter from the Notary Public of Norton County doing business in Rawlins county stating that J. R. Murry, John Belford, and Jack Reilly swear an oath that the signatures on the petition are genuine. A separate letter asks Governor St. John to appoint Herman Kase as one of the County Commissioners of Rawlins. Additional letters to Governor St. John show support of appointing Herman Kase as well as two other individuals as Commissioners for Rawlins County.

Creator: Kansas. Governor (1879-1883 : St. John)
Date: 1881

Bookbag Share Print

First PagePrevious PageNext PageLast Page

Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 1Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 2Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 3Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 4Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 5Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 6Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 7Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 8Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 9Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 10Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 11Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 12

Counties : Rawlins, memorial - 1

Item Number: 455767
Call Number: Governor's Office, Governor John Pierce St. John, Correspondence Received, Subject Files, Box 10 Folder 19
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 455767

Copyright © 2007-2024 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.