Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society

Cities, 2nd class - Page

To order images and/or obtain permission to use them commercially, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at KSHS.reference@ks.gov or 785-272-8681, ext. 117.

For more information see the Copyright and Permission FAQ.

These letters are from various individuals regarding the establishment of second class cities, based on population, to Kansas Governor John Martin. The second class cities with signed petitions for incorporation include Fort Scott, Galena, Greensburg, Holton, Lyons, Marion, and Marysville. There are also Governor's Proclamations for the declaration of second class city to Holton and Marion. While most cities are asking for incorporation for the first time, some cities are asking for a change from 3rd class to 2nd or from 2nd class to 1st. See "Cities, 1st Class" (Item number: 454842) for a list of first and second class cities along with their dates of incorporation.

Creator: Kansas. Governor (1885-1889 : Martin)
Date: 1888

Bookbag Share Print

First PagePrevious PageNext PageLast Page

Cities, 2nd class - 1Cities, 2nd class - 2Cities, 2nd class - 3Cities, 2nd class - 4Cities, 2nd class - 5Cities, 2nd class - 6Cities, 2nd class - 7Cities, 2nd class - 8Cities, 2nd class - 9Cities, 2nd class - 10Cities, 2nd class - 11Cities, 2nd class - 12

Cities, 2nd class - 1

Item Number: 454836
Call Number: Governor's Office, Governor John Alexander Martin, Correspondence Files, Subject file, Box 13 Folder 5
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 454836

Copyright © 2007-2024 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.