Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society

Whiz Kids baseball team in Baxter Springs, Kansas - Page

To order images and/or obtain permission to use them commercially, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at reference@kshs.org or 785-272-8681, ext. 117.

For more information see the Copyright and Permission FAQ.

The Baxter Springs Whiz Kids baseball team is pictured in this photograph from 1945. That year, the team competed in the Gabby Street League based in Picher, Oklahoma, and won the league pennant with a record of 40-8. The first Whiz Kids team was organized in 1944 by manager Barney Barnett (standing in back of the players, on the right). Players seated in the back row are (l to r): Ben Craig, Calvin Mishler, Reggie Helms, Bill Johnson, Jimmy Kenaga, Dick Weaver, Wylie Pitts, Bob Myers, Charles Heavin, Lowell Crawford, Billy Crow, and Jack Moore. Seated on the ground in front are (l to r): unknown, Guy Crow, Jim Bowers, and Bob Steele. Standing behind the players on the left is Richard Barnett, the manager's son. Most of the players are wearing 1939 New York Yankee uniforms donated to the Whiz Kids by Joe Becker, former business manager of the Joplin Miners, a minor league affiliate of the Yankees. The Miners wore the uniforms in 1942 but Joplin did not field a team again until after the war. During the Whiz Kids' eight-season run, the team was exceptionally successful. It became best known, however, for its most famous player, future Hall-of-Famer Mickey Mantle, who played for the Whiz Kids for a full season in 1948 and briefly in both 1947 and 1949.

Date: 1945

Bookbag Share Print

Whiz Kids baseball team in Baxter Springs, Kansas - 1Whiz Kids baseball team in Baxter Springs, Kansas - 2

Whiz Kids baseball team in Baxter Springs, Kansas - 1

Item Number: 310987
Call Number: 2015-242
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 310987

Copyright © 2007-2018 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.