Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society

Joplin Miners minor league baseball team - Page

To order images and/or obtain permission to use them commercially, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at reference@kshs.org or 785-272-8681, ext. 117.

For more information see the Copyright and Permission FAQ.

This is a photograph of the 1949 Joplin Miners, a minor league baseball team in the Class C Western Association. The team finished third in the league, with a record of 80-38. Among those pictured is Kansan Harland Coffman of Topeka (standing, third from the left). Coffman, a right-handed pitcher, appeared in 37 games for the Miners and compiled a 15-12 record, with an ERA of 3.15. Standing in the top row of the photograph are (l to r): Harry Satterlee (club president); Denis Jent; Harland Coffman; Lilburn Smith; Cal Neeman; Bob Sattler; Bill Bagwell; Al Johnston; Carl Sellers; Bill Wolf (groundskeeper); and, Roy Beavers (business manager). In the front row are (l to r): Al Pilarcik; Jim Finigan; Olin Martin; Clarence Darrah; Johnny Sturm (manager); George Sawyer; Ray Haley; Warren Moore; and, Ken Petersen. The photograph was produced by the Thomas Korn Studio; it was published in the September 4, 1949, issue of the Joplin Globe. Digital reproduction of the photograph was accomplished through a joint project sponsored by the Kansas Historical Society and the Shawnee County Baseball Hall of Fame.

Date: 1949

Bookbag Share Print

Joplin Miners minor league baseball team - 1Joplin Miners minor league baseball team - 2

Joplin Miners minor league baseball team - 1

Item Number: 309369
Call Number: 2015-065
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 309369

Copyright © 2007-2018 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.