Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society

Abilene Ikes baseball team, Abilene, Kansas - Page

To order images and/or obtain permission to use them commercially, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at KSHS.reference@ks.gov or 785-272-8681, ext. 117.

For more information see the Copyright and Permission FAQ.

This photograph features the 1949 Abilene Ikes, the team that won the pennant in the Amateur Baseball League of America with a record of 28-20. The ABLA, which was established in 1947 as a successor to the Central Division of the Kansas Ban Johnson League, consisted of five teams in 1949, including Abilene, Beloit, Clay Center, Junction City, and Manhattan. Standing in the photo are (l to r): Jim Schlesener, Lonnie Golden, Leo Christopher, Tex Seymour, Chick Gordon, Gus Carmack, Clyde Girrens, Wayne Platz, and Mike Gulino. Seated are (l to r): William Bell, Jack Sullivan, Carrol Bryant, Sonny Hancks, Von Price (manager), Dale Hatfield, Bob Stewart, Bob Tomchak, and Neale Henderson. The photo appeared in the Abilene Reflector-Chronicle on August 9, 1949. Digital reproduction of the photograph was accomplished through a joint project sponsored by the Kansas Historical Society and the Shawnee County Baseball Hall of Fame.

Date: 1949

Bookbag Share Print

Item Number: 308840
Call Number: 2015-010
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 308840

Copyright © 2007-2022 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.