Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society


Log In



After login, go to:

Forgot Username?
Forgot Password?

Browse Users
Contact us


Martha Farnsworth


Podcast Archive

Governor Mike Hayden Interview
Listen Now
Subscribe - iTunesSubscribe - RSS

More podcasts


Popular Item

Volume 17, 1926-1928


Random Item

Hangar, Smoky Hill Army Air Force Base, Salina, Kansas Hangar, Smoky Hill Army Air Force Base, Salina, Kansas


Site Statistics

Total images: 730,449
Bookbag items: 37,546
Registered users: 11,462



Kansas Memory has been created by the Kansas State Historical Society to share its historical collections via the Internet. Read more.



Matching items: 3

Category Filters

Objects and Artifacts - Communication Artifacts - Documentary Artifact - Ballot

Search within these results


Search Tips

Start Over | RSS Feed RSS Feed

View: Image Only | Title Only | Detailed
Sort by: TitleSort by Title, Ascending | Date | Creator | Newest

Showing 1 - 3 of 3 (results per page: 10 | 25 | 50)

Lecompton constitutional convention, election ballots

Lecompton constitutional convention, election ballots
Date: January 4, 1858
Election returns from the second ratification vote for the Lecompton Constitution. Delegates rejected the pro-slavery constitution.

Lecompton Constitutional Convention, election ballots

Lecompton Constitutional Convention, election ballots
Date: December 21, 1857
Examples of ballots from the special election of the Lecompton Constitutional Convention. Voters were choosing between the Constitution with slavery or without slavery. The Constitution with slavery won 6,226 to 569. However, this Constitution was rejected during a second ratification vote held on January 4, 1858.

Lecompton Constitution election returns

Lecompton Constitution election returns
Date: 1857
Election returns from the first vote held on the Lecompton Constitution on December 21, 1857. Counties include Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Breckinridge (defunct), Brown, Calhoun (defunct), Coffey, Davis, Doniphan, Dorn (defunct), Douglas, Franklin, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn, Lykins (defunct), Marshall, McGee (defunct), Nemaha, Riley, Shawnee, and Woodson. Free-state candidates for state office included George W. Smith for Governor, William Y. Roberts for Lieutenant Governor, Philip C. Schuyler for Secretary of State, Joel K. Goodin for Auditor, Andrew J. Mead for Treasurer, and Marcus J. Parrott for Congress. Pro-slavery candidates for state office included Frank J. Marshall for Governor, William G. Mathias for Lieutenant Governor, William T. Spicely for Secretary of State, Blake Little for Auditor, Thomas Cramer for Treasurer, and Joseph P. Carr for Congress. Candidates for the Senate and House of Representatives are also listed, as well as a deciding vote to allow a constitution with slavery or "to hell with the Constitution" (without slavery).

Showing 1 - 3

Copyright © 2007-2020 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.