Kansas MemoryKansas Memory

Kansas Historical SocietyKansas Historical Society

Battery A on the Kansas State Capitol grounds in Topeka, Kansas - Page

All materials on Kansas Memory are made available for noncommercial educational and research purposes only. It is the patron's responsibility to request and obtain permission from both the image and copyright owner(s) to use materials.

To obtain permission or to purchase a reproduction, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at 785-272-8681, ext. 117 or reference@kshs.org. See the Copyright and Permission FAQ for more information.

During the Populist War of 1893, Battery A, a militia unit from Wichita, Kansas, was stationed on the grounds outside of the Kansas State Capitol building in Topeka, Kansas. The dispute began when both the Republican and Populist parties claimed victory in the Kansas House elections in 1892. A number of contests were still being disputed when the legislative session began in January 1893. The conflict between the parties reached a crisis when the Populists locked themselves in the House Hall. The Republicans used a sledgehammer to break down the doors to the hall. The governor requested support from the state militia. After a three-day standoff, Governor Lewelling was able to negotiate an agreement with the Republican speaker of the house, which amounted to a Populist surrender. The state Supreme Court ultimately ruled in favor of the Republicans.

Creator: Farrow, W. F.
Date: February 1893

Bookbag Share Print

This image will work well with any sources related to the Populist war, including Governor Lewelling's orders, Floyd Bull's reminiscence, Remington's postcard, the written agreement that ended the standoff, and other images of the statehouse and those involved in the conflict.

KS:7th:4.2:Populism (2005)

Item Number: 237
Call Number: FK2.2 H.1893 *6
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 237

Copyright © 2007-2015 - Kansas Historical Society - Contact Us
This website was developed in part with funding provided by the Information Network of Kansas.